Ontario Liberal leadership deadline passes

Sandra Pupatello to announces her Ontario Liberal Party leadership campaign at Ryerson University in Toronto.

Credits: Jack Boland/Toronto Sun/QMI Agency


TORONTO — One of seven Liberals will become the next premier of Ontario.

As the deadline passed for new candidates, the confirmed list of names were Kathleen Wynne, Harinder Takhar, Charles Sousa, Sandra Pupatello, Glen Murray, Gerard Kennedy and Dr. Eric Hoskins.

The opposition parties argued it didn't really matter which one wins because all sat at the Dalton McGuinty cabinet table when controversial decisions were made.

Tory MPP Rod Jackson called them "McGuinty clones" who played key roles in the government's agenda.
"Liberals are all birds of the same feather," Jackson said. "They all tax and spend."

Even Kennedy, who has been away from the cabinet the longest, was there when McGuinty went back on a promise not to raise taxes, he said.

NDP house leader Gilles Bisson said whichever Liberal wins will have to wear unpopular policies like cancelling racetrack revenue-sharing and gas plants.

The new leader will be chosen in a delegated convention in Toronto in January.
Sun News Videos

Mink farming

Nova Scotia produces half of Canada's mink fur.

Feminist 'consent underwear' spark debate

Do consent underwear just change the conversation from 'rape culture' to 'slut culture'?

Afghanistan's upcoming election

With an election rapidly approaching, change is on its way to Afghanistan. Good or bad, the world is watching.

Ezra Levant’s The Source is the most provocative and thought-changing multimedia show in Canada.

This show is 100% focused on the political battles taking place across Canada, in the United States...even around the world.

Michael Coren brings you strong, balanced opinions to challenge conventional thinking.

Byline brings you the stories you won’t hear anywhere else while exploring points of view that are all too often ignored.